top of page

Banderas, learn a little bit about some of our flags.

Updated: Oct 4, 2022

Have you ever travelled to a Spanish speaking country and noticed the national or regional flag waving all over? Here in Spanish Millennium, we will give you some explanations about the origin of some of the flags of Latin America and Spain and teach you some particularities of each country and its people.

Peru: The red color in the flag signifies the blood shed by the heroes during the War of Independence from Spain. The white symbolizes the purity of their hearts. The coat of arms includes a vicuna, which wool is very well appreciated. The beneficial quinine tree is seen at the right. The cornucopia is placed below and represents the profuse earth reserves. Peruvians are very proud of the richness of their country in the three realms, especially their nature and food, which is well appreciated around the world.

Mexico: The white color, represents the Catholic faith, that is well extended in Mexico and influences their culture strongly. The green means the independence from Spain. The red means equality among all people living in Mexico. The eagle in the center shows the strength and courage of their people; this eagle was used profusely in standards during the Independence Wars from Spain. Several revolutions and wars have been waged since fighting for liberty and equality.

Catalonia: The golden and red stripes flag, officially called la Señera, have a historic origin; those are the original colors of the Count of Barcelona (ca. 1150). It represents the Catalan autonomic region and waves next to the Spanish and European flags in all public buildings. Catalans are very honored and consider themselves the followers of the Aragon Crown, among all different languages and cultures from Spain.

Uruguay and Argentina

Oriental Republic of Uruguay: The nine white and blue stripes represent the original nine provinces of the country when the republic was called. The golden sun of May represents the May Revolution (1810), where the Spanish Viceroy was deposed, and the first local government in South America was installed. Uruguayans and Argentinians are very proud of this, and they have a large tradition of opposing injustice and oppression.

Argentina: The blue is thought to be the abundant waters of Rio de La Plata. The white is traditionally said to be the colors of the sky. The golden sun of May in the middle is also thought to characterize the god Inti, traditionally believed to be the creator of the Inca civilization.

Colombia, Venezuela, and Ecuador

These three countries share the same flag colors because they were all part of the Gran Colombia viceroyalty, liberated from Spain by Simón Bolívar. Historically these three countries share a common past and are very close one another. The economic, political, and personal links influence greatly the neighbor countries.

Yellow: Represents the riches of the country, the wealth of the soil, the gold, sovereignty, harmony, justice, and agriculture, as well as the Sun, the source of light.

Blue: Represents the sky above, the seas on the shores, and the rivers that run through.

Red: Represents the blood spilled for the independence and the effort of their people, their determination and perseverance.

Colombia: The tricolor is plain without any ornaments.

Venezuela: The Venezuelan flag has also eight stars, corresponding to its eight original provinces.

Ecuador: The coat of arms is particular to this flag: in the upper part the sun with the part of the Zodiac signs for March, April, May and June; in the lower part the historical mountain Chimborazo, wherefrom a river strts, surmounted by a condor with wings displayed.

47 views0 comments


bottom of page